99% say no?

I’ve sent out draft 2 of my manuscript to my readers (thank you readers!), leaving me with some time on my hands. Rather, leaving me with some time to do publishing research. What’s next?

  • review edits and suggestions from readers–implement
  • create a list of agents to query
  • write a query letter (which needs a synopsis and title)
  • brainstorm a title (no small feat!)
  • write a synopsis

I’m excited to be at this next stage of the novel-writing process. I’m trying not to be daunted by statistics I find on agents’ websites: “I reject 99% of all query letters that cross my desk.”  I keep telling myself that I can’t get rejected (or accepted!) until I send in some queries.

Long term:

  • query agents
  • wait for responses (anywhere from 2 weeks to 3 months)
  • hyper-edit the first three chapters (if an agent likes my query, they’ll ask for the first three chapters)
  • research self-publishing
  • self-publish?

It’s a process. There’s a learning curve. But I’m taking it one step at a time and trying not to think about that 99% statistic.

2 responses to “99% say no?

  1. Hello Kirsten & Hans:

    Heard the good news.

    CONGRATULATIONS, CONGRATULATIONS
    ON YOUR BEAUTIFUL BABY GIRL, ENJOY ALL THE GOOD TIMES WITH YOUR NEW ADDITION TO THE FAMILY.
    From: Doug, Paula & Amanda
    s/v Exuma Grouper

  2. living vicariously through you. and congratulations on your baby!

Leave a Reply

