pregnancy cravings

lunch in 8 minutes...can I wait that long?

Pregnancy cravings. Are they real? Or just a real good excuse to eat what you want?

A little of both I think. At 25 weeks pregnant, I’m hungry almost all the time. (Yes, Mik, this is different from pre-pregnancy!) But now when I’m hungry, I need to eat within ten minutes or, or . . . I don’t want to know what I’d do. Perhaps start eating dirt and fabric softener? That does happen to some women.  And when my stomach isn’t growling, I’m still thinking about food and dreaming about what will be good to eat. (Again, this is different from pre-pregnancy, I swear!)

These days, my food dreams revolve around cheese, eggs, salt, and bread. And the beauty of pregnancy is that I pretty much can eat whatever I want. Luckily I never want to eat McDonalds, chips, or other junk food (Ben & Jerry’s has calcium). So when my stomach growls, I need to eat. And since I’m always thinking about food, I always have a food dream that needs to be fulfilled.

Is that a craving? Yes. But is it a scientific event happening in my body? I don’t think so. I crave food because I think about it all the time and I’m hungry about 80% of the time. So, when I get a craving, I usually satisfy that craving.

Does this make any sense? I don’t think so. I’m deliriously hungry as my Trader Joe’s box mac & cheese boils on the stove. I rarely eat box mac & cheese, but I’m hungry, I’m pregnant, and I got a craving. So I’m ignoring the sodium content and focusing on the organic label. They cancel each other out, right?

What I’m trying to say is that cravings are not specific to pregnancy, but pregnancy is a wonderful reason to satisfy those cravings. Nearly guilt-free eating!

One response to “pregnancy cravings

  1. That TJ mac & cheese was HEAVEN to me during my pregnancy. LOVE it!

Leave a Reply

