writing on a schedule

Working on a schedule. Monday to Friday, 9-5. Or three hours every morning and three hours in the afternoon. Or three hours in the morning and three hours after dinner. Five days a week. I have read over and over again that writing on a schedule is a common habit of professional published writers. Janet Evanovich writes early in the morning, takes a lunch break, and spends a few more hours writing in the afternoon.

I need to adopt a schedule. During the last few weeks of finishing up my novel, I wrote for about six hours a day. It’s time to edit and I estimate that I have averaged 5 hours of editing in seven days. That’s pathetic!

We’ll be back in Philadelphia on Tuesday afternoon. My new writing schedule (tbd) will start on Wednesday morning.  Do you have a writing schedule? How do you stick to that schedule?

Leave a Reply

