as American as…

There is something about making homemade apple pie. I felt like I was giving Hans and me a gift–the apple pie was my love made visible.

Many people associate these feelings with bread–when you make bread you’re with it for hours, watching it, babying it, taking care of it’s temperature, gluten, and then shaping it, baking it, and tapping the hollow bottom.   I love making bread, but because of the final product, not the process. The process is just the process.  It’s the end result that makes me happy–I know what is in my bread and I can pronounce all the ingredients (flour, water, salt, yeast).

Making the apple pie, on the other hand, was such a cozy cooking project. I rubbed the butter into the flour, carefully pulled the pastry dough together, meditated while I peeled, cored and sliced the apples, and  carefully lay the top crust over the apples, pinching the edges. Into the oven and the boat was filled with the smell of fall.

I made the pie with the intention of serving it at a potluck tonight. Good thing I still have a whole bowl of apples to make an apple crumble–there is no way Hans and I can look at that pie all day without having another piece!

I used this recipe from King Arthur Flour for the pie crust and this recipe for the pie. (I like all-butter crusts. vegetable shortening? yuck!)

3 responses to “as American as…

  1. that is one good looking pie. ever tried white lily flour? it’s a southern baking flour ~ I buy it whenever I’m visiting KY.

  2. thanks! it was delicious (and long gone….). White Lily flour? I haven’t heard of it, but will have to look it up.

  3. PS: notice how I shamelessly stole Old First’s (or is it UCC’s) saying: “Children are God’s love made visible”…:)

Leave a Reply

