Sunday morning cookies

fresh out of the oven, my morning tea and handy egg timer

8:17 AM on Sunday morning. First batch of cookies is out of the oven, second is baking. What? you ask. Is this some kind of early morning baking competition? Vying for a spot on Real Housewives of Philadelphia?  Nothing so glamorous. Just a minor lack of attention to detail (a skill that Skadden so relentlessly drilled in my head I thought I would never forget a comma, period or “l” in public).

A bit of background: we’re going sailing today (can you see my heart soar?) and I decided to bake some chocolate chip cookies to bring along. At 4PM yesterday I pulled out my King Arthur Flour’s Whole Grain Baking cookbook and started to whip up a batch of chocolate chip cookies, 100% whole grain (just ignore the sugar and butter and they’re healthy, h0nest!). It wasn’t until I was halfway through the recipe that I read “refrigerate overnight.”  Ack! We’re getting picked up at 9:30 this morning. When scouring the book for a no-fail cookie recipe, I failed to notice the nifty little overnight symbol next to the title of the recipe.

For the reading-impaired, the accommodating folks at King Arthur even provide little symbols in their cookbook

Which leaves me, at 8:22AM, scooping cookie dough onto my cookie sheet, transferring to the cooling rack, and, of course, eating cookies for breakfast, while Hans dozes away in the Land of Nod. (I will mention here, for proof of my martyrdom status, that our oven only fits one cookie sheet and I only have one cookie sheet, so this is taking about three times longer than if I had a conventional oven.)

One response to “Sunday morning cookies

  1. Oh man, we only had one rack for our Seaward Princess stove/oven for the longest time! I feel your pain on the multiple batches. Hope the cookies were good.

Leave a Reply

