quick question

Many states are arguing that it is unconstitutional for the federal government to make it mandatory for individuals to buy health insurance. Yet it is mandatory for individuals to purchase auto insurance. The constitutionality of mandatory auto insurance has not be questioned in the courts (as far as I know). Am I missing something here?

2 responses to “quick question

  1. Well, I don’t know, I do know that I can’t afford health insurance (other than the puny policy we’ve got here in St. Kitts) so they can require it all they want and it ain’t gonna happen. If I couldn’t afford car insurance, I probably could barely afford my car too – but at least I don’t necessary have to have a car (I can take public transportation or mooch off of someone else). I can’t control whether I get hit by a car though, which makes needing health insurance a bit different. Why make us all have required policies at all? If I’m American and paying taxes, then I should be able to go to the doctor/hospital and get care for “free.” Non-Americans get care too, but have to pay. This is still a cockamimi system.

  2. And if you’re walking down the street and get hit by a car and don’t have health insurance, everyone else has to pay your medical bills. The same as if you’re driving a car and don’t have car insurance and hit someone else. The uninsured driver is at fault and someone is going to have to pay for the hit-person’s medical bills. Who? All the other insured people in the country. I keep drawing direct parallels between mandatory health insurance and mandatory car insurance yet I haven’t heard anyone else talk about it on the news. Hence my confusion. I feel like I’m going in circles.

Leave a Reply

