foregoing law school

I’ve deferred my admission to Temple Law School to Fall 2011. I made this decision for a number of reasons, the main reason being that I could not picture myself working as an attorney. No matter how hard I tried to draw a picture of my life after law school, I could not muster a light pencil sketch in my imagination. Immigration Law, which has always been my motivation to become an attorney, didn’t seem that exciting anymore. Working for a small firm taking whatever cases came in the door seems like a path toward 16 hour days and a meager paycheck.
I sent in my deferment to Temple about a month ago and have been feeling confident and happy in my decision. My decision was further affirmed by the latest copy of “The Pennsylvania Lawyer” plopping on my desk at work this morning. Cover story: Is Law School Still Worth It? The article cited rising attendance rates, dropping employment growth and rising tuition costs. It basically confirmed what I have been thinking all along: upon graduation I’ll be saddled with a large pile of debt and faced with steep competition for a few jobs, that I’m not even sure that I want. Looking at my decision in such black and white terms makes me wonder why it gave me such angst two months ago. Today, it seems pretty darn obvious!

4 responses to “foregoing law school

  1. Sounds like its time to go sailing again. Dig the new blog.

  2. I find it interesting that you sent a deferment rather than a cancelation of your application to Law School. Perhaps you still want to be a lawyer, just not an immigration lawyer.
    In the end it does not matter how many lawyers there are, nor the cost to go to University, nor whatever reason you can use. It only matters that you follow your Path. That you find your Way.

    • Hi Joe
      well, I felt like sending a cancellation, but the deferment only sets me back $150 and, like all boaters know, it’s good to have a back-up plan, just in case… ha!
      If you can find someone that will pay back my law school loans for me, sign me up. law school is exciting, but the debt and career afterwards…not so much.

  3. If you go for a degree, specialize in animals http://animal-law.lawyers.com/. Although I don’t know how good Fido will pay, but he’ll be really cute and lick your face!

Leave a Reply

