plastic windows

The current, never-ending project on m/v Stinkpot (besides fixing leaks), is sewing an enclosure for the back and top decks.  We have completed the back deck enclosure and are now working on sewing the connecting piece between the hard-top to the back deck and the bimini which is over the top deck (cockpit).  We have a large piece of Sunbrella that fits and needs to be tailored to the space.  Yesterday I sewed a plastic window into the back.  Since Hans was studying all day, I had to tackle my lack of spatial awareness.  I lay the piece of sunbrella across the back deck, lay the window across the top and then had to determine how to cut out the hole in the Sunbrella while leaving space to hem and attached the window.  Sunbrella costs over $15/yd so I didn’t want to miscalculate.  Crawling across the back deck on my knees (proof of this task is visible in the bruises in my knees today), I measured two 5/8″ hems, plus an additional 1/4″ seam to attach the window.  I connected the dots with a black permanent marker (permanent? since when do boaters use anything ‘permanent’ on the first try at  project?!), and ended up with a rectangle within a rectangle.  I walked around the canvas a couple times, analyzing and talking to myself, convincing myself that it was time to cut.  Out came the scissors.  I ironed the hem twice, sewed the hem and dragged the canvas back outside, crossing my fingers that my calculations were correct.  Ta da!  the window fit perfectly.  I affixed it with seamstick, dragged it back inside and sewed the window to the canvas.

we’re one step closer to having a dry cockpit!

One response to “plastic windows

  1. Good job! That’s like taking the first cut through the roof to put in a sky light. Terrifying!

Leave a Reply

